Visualise a picture postcard village with rows of pretty ironstone cottages, and an ancient parish church at the heart of the small community. Bordering St Andrew's church graveyard there appear to be yet more terraced cottages, but somehow incomplete, and with a distinct ecclesiastical look about the architecture. Take a little more time to investigate this mysteriously appealing little complex, and it will reveal a fascinating background.
This is part of the Bishop’s Palace, a grand medieval residence constructed largely in the 14th century, and accommodating many influential occupants until 1547, when the property was seized by the Crown. What remained of the palace (its eastern end) was passed to Lord Burghley in 1600, who founded a charity to provide shelter and clothing for a few poor men and women in the community. Visitors can wander through the bedesmen's rooms, with their tiny windows and fireplaces, and view the former bishops' Great Chamber with its beautifully carved ceiling cornice.
|2 for 1 Voucher: Lyddington Bede House